Concerts and Events

RECORDING: 16-year-old Rosie Sherpa plays Bach at one of our free lunchtime concerts

Lunchtime Concert series (all starting at 1.00 p.m.) in brown: these concerts are FREE but donations welcomed! Sign up to our Mailing List and receive notifications of forthcoming Concerts and Events (red button above):


27th September NO LUNCHTIME CONCERT


Wednesday, 28th September 1900h at CHRIST CHURCH, BAYSTON HILL Churches Together: Persecution: feelings, thoughts, prayers and action” for details, click here.


Saturday, 1st October 1930h Shropshire Music Trust welcomes the Carducci Quartet for the first in their series of “Connections” concerts. Details and prices on the SMT website.


Sunday, 2nd October SHROPSHIRE CHAMBER ORCHESTRA 1500h Mozart “Exsultate Jubilate”, Piano Concerto #21, Symphony #41. Tickets £15 at door.


Tuesday, 4th October NO CONCERT


Tuesday, 11th October DAMIR DURMANOVIC (piano) Damir, originally from Bosnia/Herzegovina, is a talented young pianist who studied at the Yehudi Menuhin school and is now at the Royal College in London. He will be playing music by Bach, Schumann and Brahms – not, alas, Schubert on this occasion!


Tuesday, 18th October MUSIC FOR OBOE QUARTET Music by Mozart and Malcolm Arnold.


Tuesday, 25th October CHILDREN’S CONCERT another concert for any young person (up to 18) who is able to play one piece – any age, any stage. We have had some wonderful and unexpected performances in the past – a real serendipitous lunchtime for children from age 6 upwards. Do you know someone who would like to play? Sign up using the blue button below. Sorry – no drum kits or electronic instruments (due to time).


Monday, 31st October SUSANNE MECKLENBURG (singer) NB this concert is, unusually, on MONDAY lunchtime at 1 pm. International vocalist and scientist Susanne performs a special programme of music for the early autumn.


Tuesday, 1st November NO CONCERT


Tuesday, 8th November “A SHROPSHIRE LAD” (Housman/Butterworth) – with readings by ANDREW BANNERMAN and songs from REUBEN LINDSAY-BOWEN – a suitably reflective programme for Remembrance Week.


Tuesday, 15th November LUCY POWELL DAVIES bassoon with Maureen Powell-Davies piano Rarer still than a bassoon recital is a really good bassoon recital!! Don’t miss this one!


Friday, 18th Nov 1930h CARDUCCI QUARTET (Shropshire Music Trust) continuing their autumn season at St Alkmund’s. Details and tickets from the SMT website.


Tuesday, 22nd November 1300h FILIP MICHALAK piano details to follow


Tuesday, 29th November 1300h SHREWSBURY SCHOOL MUSICIANS directed by new Head of Music Maria McKenzie


Tuesday, 6th December NO CONCERT


Sunday, 11th December 1800h SHROPSHIRE MUSIC SERVICE CHRISTMAS CONCERT the ever popular annual Christmas Concert by the young people of Shropshire


Tuesday, 13th December vacant – more details will appear here


Tuesday, 20th December vacant – more details will appear here


Saturday, 17th December 1930h CANTATA CHOIR concert – details to follow here in due course.

Insect Safari – this Event outside St Alkmund’s attracted over 200 people

Performers requiring our most recent Risk Assessment for their records may download it here:

The church has one of the best acoustics in the area, a fine Kawai grand piano and a wide performance area, all within beautiful surroundings. To enquire about holding a concert/event at the church, please contact Caroline Thewles.

%d bloggers like this: