Concerts and Events

RECORDING: 16-year-old Rosie Sherpa plays Bach at one of our free lunchtime concerts

Lunchtime Concert series (all starting at 1.00 p.m.) in brown: these concerts are FREE but donations welcomed! Sign up to our Mailing List and receive notifications of forthcoming Concerts and Events (red button above):

Tuesday, 9th August 1300h BRIAN CARRINGTON – Brian Carrington is an experienced local singer song-writer who has performed as part of a duo called Daylevel, and more recently as a solo performer. His style is influenced by artists such as Mary Black, Joni Mitchell, Don McClean, James Taylor and John Denver. With guitar and voice, ideal entertainment for a summer lunchtime.

Tuesday, 16th August 1300h Illustrated talk on the “Enigma” machine and the work of Bletchley Park during World War II, by DR MARK BALDWIN. An Enigma machine is expected to be present!

picture: courtesy of Shropshire Star

Saturday, 20th August 1930h VISIO IMPROVISUS Programme based upon the music of the visionary Abbess Hildegard of Bingen, 12th century Saint and also known as the ‘Sibyl of the Rhine’. Tickets available on door: advance tickets and further information available by clicking here.

Tuesday, 23rd August 1300h ADRIAN LORD (piano) details to follow

Tuesday, 30th August 1300h THEO BUMPUS (trombone) with Derry Burtenshaw (piano) details to follow

6th, 13th, 20th and 27th September NO LUNCHTIME CONCERTS

Saturday 10th September RIDE AND STRIDE in aid of Historic Churches If you would like to get involved, a sponsorship form can be downloaded by clicking here.

Sunday, 2nd October SHROPSHIRE CHAMBER ORCHESTRA 1500h details to follow

Tuesday, 4th October NO CONCERT

Tuesday, 11th October DAMIR DURMANOVIC (piano) Damir, originally from Bosnia/Herzegovina, is a talented young pianist who studied at the Yehudi Menuhin school and is now at the Royal College in London. He will be playing music by Bach, Schumann and Brahms.

Tuesday, 18th October vacant – more details will appear here

Tuesday, 25th October CHILDREN’S CONCERT another concert for any young person who is able to play one piece – we have had some wonderful and unexpected performances – a real serendipitous lunchtime with performances by ages from 8 upwards. Do you know someone who would like to play? They will be able to SIGN UP HERE from September. Only limit – no drum kits – acoustic instruments only (due to time).

Tuesday, 1st November NO CONCERT

Tuesday, 8th November ANDREW BANNERMAN with readings and music for Remembrance Week.

Tuesday, 15th November LUCY POWELL DAVIES bassoon with Maureen Powell-Davies piano Rarer still than a bassoon recital is a really good bassoon recital!! Don’t miss this one!

Friday, 18th Nov 1930h CARDUCCI QUARTET (Shropshire Music Trust) continuing their autumn season at St Alkmund’s. Details and tickets from the SMT website.

Tuesday, 22nd November 1300h FILIP MICHALAK piano details to follow

Tuesday, 29th November 1300h SHREWSBURY SCHOOL MUSICIANS directed by new Head of Music Maria McKenzie

Tuesday, 6th December NO CONCERT

Tuesday, 13th December vacant – more details will appear here

Tuesday, 20th December vacant – more details will appear here

Sunday, 11th December 1800h SHROPSHIRE MUSIC SERVICE CHRISTMAS CONCERT the ever popular annual Christmas Concert by the young people of Shropshire

Saturday, 17th December 1930h CANTATA CHOIR concert – details to follow here in due course.

Insect Safari – this Event outside St Alkmund’s attracted over 200 people

Performers requiring our most recent Risk Assessment for their records may download it here:

The church has one of the best acoustics in the area, a fine Kawai grand piano and a wide performance area, all within beautiful surroundings. To enquire about holding a concert/event at the church, please contact Caroline Thewles.

%d bloggers like this: